Eat Yer Greens!

September 30, 2010 § Leave a comment


Hey, I’m back! This time, I am going to share with you couple of my own original recipes – I made them up myself! I cook these as side dishes with dinner on a regular basis. 

I don’t know about you, but it has always been a chore for me to get enough green, leafy vegetables in my diet. Until this past year. To my relief, I no longer have to force-feed myself spinach and kale. Now, I can enjoy them as a part of a yummy dinner! Below are two recipes I created in search of a more nutritious diet. But, con cuidado: the recipes aren’t necessarily low-fat.  

One recipe uses kale, the other spinach. The kale recipe takes a little technique, but is super delicious when the garlic is perfectly pan roasted, the dates are tender and warm, the kale crispy and the avocado ripe and creamy. Heaven!!! The spinach recipe incorporates the flavors of sesame and pumpkin spice with creamy goat cheese. Mouth watering. 

These dishes should be cooked when everything else is ready to be eaten or almost ready because the process is fast and the greens taste best when hot. The kale recipe can be made vegan.

Kale with Garlic, Dates & Avocado 

Kale with Garlic, Dates and Avocado

 

Ingredients 

  • 4-5 Stocks of Kale
  • 1/4 Tsp. Crushed garlic
  • 1-2 Pats Butter (or coconut oil to make vegan)
  • 2 Medjool dates
  • 1/4 Ripe Avocado

Method 

Pit the dates and cut them into tiny pieces. Melt butter in a saute pan. Tear pieces of kale off the stalk. Add the kale to the pan and saute until hot. Add the garlic and dates, turn burner down to low. Saute until kale is wilted and the garlic is light brown. Don’t burn the garlic or the butter. Burnt garlic is bitter. Cube avocado and place cubes over kale. Serve hot. 

      

Sesame Spinach with Goat Cheese and Pumpkin Butter 

Sesame Spinach with Goat Cheese and Pumpkin Butter

Ingredients 

  • Large pan full of Spinach (always buy organic – I get it super cheap at Costco)
  • 1 Tbsp. Sesame oil
  • 2 Tbsp. Sesame Seeds
  • 2-3 Tbsp. Goat Cheese (I recommend Trader Joes – a good price & taste)
  • 2-3 Tbsp. Pumpkin Butter (I recommend Kozlowski Farms @ QFC)

Method 

Turn burner to medium-high. Pour sesame oil into saute pan. Put spinach and sesame seeds in the pan. Saute quickly as the spinach wilts. Take off burner. Spoon goat cheese onto wilted spinach, being careful to avoid getting it directly onto the pan.  Transfer to a plate and spoon pumpkin butter over. Serve hot. (Good served accompanied with beef, chicken or fish).

 ********************** Hugs! ***********************

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Eat Yer Greens! at Sweet Sage.

meta

